Press Release

January 3, 2013
Team Maryland to Announce FEMA Approval of Public Assistance for Baltimore County Following Super-Storm Sandy

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Ben Cardin and Barbara A. Mikulski (both D-Md.) along with Representatives Elijah E. Cummings (D-Md.), C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-Md.), John Sarbanes (D-Md.) and Andy Harris (R-Md.) today announced the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved Public Disaster Assistance for Baltimore County in the wake of Super-Storm Sandy. This type of assistance is critical to rebuilding roads, buildings and other infrastructure damaged in the storm.  

“As members of the Maryland Congressional Delegation, we have been united throughout this process in urging the Administration to provide needed assistance for communities recovering from Super-Storm Sandy,” said members of the Delegation. “Maryland communities want to recover from this devastating storm, but they can’t do it on their own. Today’s announcement will come as welcome relief to Baltimore County to repair critical infrastructure and rebuild lives.”  

Team Maryland has been vigilant in seeking disaster assistance since Sandy hit the Atlantic coast in October.  

Through Public Disaster Assistance, FEMA provides reimbursement funding for eligible projects including those related to debris removal, emergency protective measures, and the repair, replacement, or restoration of disaster-damaged, publicly owned facilities and the facilities of certain Private Non-Profit (PNP) organizations. This reimbursement program is a cost share program, with the Federal government covering at least 75 percent of eligible costs.   

Baltimore County along with all Maryland Counties and the Independent City of Baltimore were previously awarded Hazard Mitigation Assistance. Baltimore County now joins Maryland counties previously awarded Public Assistance including: Allegany, Anne Arundel, Calvert, Caroline, Carroll, Cecil, Charles, Dorchester, Frederick, Garrett, Harford, Howard, Kent, Montgomery, Prince George’s, Queen Anne’s, Somerset, St. Mary’s, Talbot, Washington, Wicomico and Worchester along with the Independent City of Baltimore.  

With the full support and backing of Team Maryland, FEMA reversed its initial denial of Individual Disaster Assistance for Somerset County, which provides critical housing assistance and disaster-related support for families and individuals coping with the immediate aftermath of the storm.

Senators Cardin and Mikulski also led the Maryland delegation in urging President Obama to support a Pre-Disaster Declaration, Disaster Declaration and Individual Assistance for Maryland counties impacted by Super-Storm Sandy. Team Maryland also urged the President to approve Governor O’Malley’s updated request for Individual Disaster Assistance.