Press Release

November 1, 2019
Senate Passes Cardin, Rubio Resolution Recognizing National Women’s Small Business Month

WASHINGTON — The U.S. Senate unanimously passed a resolution from U.S. Senators Ben Cardin (D-Md.) and Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Ranking Member and Chairman and of the Senate Committee on Small Business and Entrepreneurship, recognizing the month of October as “National Women’s Small Business Month.” The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has also been celebrating female entrepreneurship this month. The Rubio-Cardin resolution highlights the vital contributions of women entrepreneurs and women small business owners. The full text of the resolution can be found here. 

“I take great pride in Maryland’s distinction as the state with the highest concentration of women-owned businesses and the second highest concentration of minority women-owned businesses in the country,” Ranking Member Cardin said. “As we mark National Women’s Small Business Month, I remain committed to supporting women entrepreneurs as they continue to overcome barriers, start and grow successful businesses, and create jobs.”

 “The number of women-owned small businesses have grown exponentially,” Chairman Rubio said. “These firms play a critical role in providing services to our local communities and robustly contributing to our 21st century economy. I am proud to join my colleagues in celebrating the more than 12 million women small business owners and their enduring entrepreneurial spirit and service,” Chairman Rubio continued. “In the months ahead, I look forward to working with Ranking Member Cardin on reauthorizing the Small Business Act and increasing female entrepreneurship resources by streamlining and coordinating entrepreneurial development services.”  

Joining Senators Cardin and Rubio in cosponsoring the resolution were Senators Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W. Va.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Cory Gardner (R-Colo.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawai’i), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), James Inhofe (R-Okla.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Angus King (I-Maine), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Martha McSally (R-Ariz.), David Perdue (R-Ga.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Pat Roberts (R-Kan.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), and Todd Young (R-Ind.).