Press Release

July 19, 2021
Montgomery and Prince George’s County Congressional Delegation Announce More Than $375,000 in American Rescue Plan Funding to Support Fire and EMS Departments in COVID-19 Recovery

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen and Congressmen Steny H. Hoyer, Jamie Raskin and David Trone (all D-Md.) today announced $378,753 in American Rescue Plan funding for fire and emergency rescue departments across Montgomery and Prince George’s Counties.

“The health and safety of our first responders must remain a top priority. This new federal award will ensure our firefighters and emergency volunteers have the proper funding and equipment they need to respond to emergencies,” the lawmakers said. “We will continue working to secure additional resources to keep first responders and Marylanders safe.”

The award comes from the Maryland Emergency Management Agency, through the American Rescue Plan passed by Congress, to assist departments recover from the economic fallout of the COVID-19 pandemic. The awardees include:  

Accokeek VFD


Bladensburg VFDRS


Branchville VFC


Brandywine VFD


Brentwood VFD


Clinton VFD


College Park VFD


Forestville VFD


Glenn Dale Fire Association


Greenbelt VFD


Laurel Volunteer Fire Rescue Squad


P.G. Volunteer Marine Fire Rescue Inc.


Silver Hill VFD


West Lanham Hills VFD


Total for Prince George’s County





Cabin John Park VFD


Damascus VFD


Kensington VFD


Laytonsville VFDS


Upper Montgomery County VFD


Wheaton Vol Rescue Squad


Total for Montgomery County