Press Release

October 15, 2021
Maryland Congressional Delegation Announces More Than $600,000 for Community Policing Development Programs

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen and Congressmen Steny H. Hoyer, Dutch Ruppersberger, John Sarbanes, Kweisi Mfume, Anthony G. Brown, Jamie B. Raskin and David Trone (all D-Md.) today announced $603,327 in federal funding to bolster de-escalation and crisis intervention training for police departments across the state.

“Cultivating meaningful and trusting relationships between law enforcement personnel and the communities they protect is essential,” the lawmakers said. “This new round of federal funding will provide for important crisis intervention training so that our officers can increase de-escalation techniques to help keep residents and our streets safe. These funds will supplement the recent police reform legislation passed in the Maryland General Assembly. We will continue working in Congress to advance the George Floyd Justice in Policing Act and fund programs to strengthen Maryland’s community policing models, effective practices and outcomes.”

Funding comes from the Department of Justice’s Office of Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS Office) through Fiscal Year 2021 Funds. Awardees include:

  • $230,000 for the City of Hyattsville Crisis Intervention Teams
  • $199,052 for Baltimore County De-Escalation Law Enforcement Agency
  • $105,158 for the City of Salisbury De-Escalation Law Enforcement Agency
  • $69,117 for the City of Annapolis De-Escalation Law Enforcement Agency

Awards will be used to develop the abilities of law enforcement to implement community policing by providing guidance on de-escalation and crisis intervention practices and supporting new approaches to prevent crime and promote safe communities.