Press Release

May 5, 2020
Maryland Congressional Delegation Announces More Than $46 Million in Additional Funding for Maryland Colleges, Including $44 Million for Historically Black Colleges and Universities

WASHINGTON – The full Maryland congressional delegation, including U.S. Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen and Congressmen Steny H. Hoyer, Dutch Ruppersberger, John P. Sarbanes, Andy Harris, M.D., Anthony G. Brown, Jamie B. Raskin, David Trone, and Kweisi Mfume, today announced $46,702,104 for Maryland’s Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs), Minority Serving Institutions (MSIs), and colleges serving large populations of low-income students through the U.S. Department of Education Higher Education and Emergency Relief (HEER) Fund created through the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act. These supplemental awards are provided on top of those that HBCUs and other MSIs received under the $170 million previously announced by the delegation for Maryland colleges and universities.

“Maryland’s Historically Black Colleges and Universities, Minority Serving Institutions, and community colleges serving high populations of low-income students play a critically important role in our communities,” said the delegation. “We fought to obtain dedicated assistance to ensure that they have the resources to make it through this challenging time. This federal funding will help these institutions continue to educate and serve the needs of their students.”

Of the $14.25 billion provided for higher education relief nationally through the CARES Act, Congress set aside $1.05 billion for HBCUs and Minority Serving Institutions and $344 million for schools that the Secretary determines has the greatest unmet needs related to COVID-19. Federal funding may be used for institutions to cover the costs of attendance for eligible students, technology associated with a transition to distance education, and faculty and staff trainings. It may also be used to cover operational costs including lost revenue, reimbursements for prior expenses, and payroll. Awards include $44,795,871 for four HBCUs, $1,311,412 for nine community colleges, and $594,821 for public and private non-profit nonprofit schools.

The full breakdown of funding for Maryland is as follows:

  • $19,040,779 for Morgan State University
  • $13,707,787 for Bowie State University
  • $7,840,808 for University of Maryland Eastern Shore
  • $4,206,497 for Coppin State University
  • $459,430 for Community College of Baltimore County
  • $215,184 for Anne Arundel Community College
  • $192,461 for Frostburg State University
  • $187,438 for Baltimore City Community College
  • $177,071 for University of Baltimore
  • $128,733 for College of Southern Maryland
  • $115,500 for Hagerstown Community College
  • $90,825 for Wor-Wic Community College
  • $63,004 for Bais HaMedrash and Mesivta of Baltimore
  • $57,489 for Washington Adventist University
  • $48,443 for Notre Dame of Maryland University
  • $45,101 for Chesapeake College
  • $44,527 for Montgomery College
  • $37,672 for University of Maryland Baltimore County
  • $24,674 for Garrett College
  • $14,167 for Capitol Technology University
  • $4,514 for Faith Theological Seminary

The delegation has previously announced funding for Maryland through the CARES Act including $1.6 million to create temporary disaster relief jobs, $45 million for child care centers, $45 million for the Governor’s emergency education relief fund, $107 million for airports, $742 million for hospitals and health care providers, $15.6 million for community health centers and $48 million to Maryland local government jurisdictions.