Press Release

October 13, 2020
Maryland Congressional Delegation Announces More Than $1.6 Million in Federal Funding to Improve Transit Safety

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen and Congressmen Steny H. Hoyer, Dutch Ruppersberger, John Sarbanes, Kweisi Mfume, Anthony G. Brown, Jamie Raskin and David Trone today announced $1,675,000 in federal funding to upgrade transit bus compartments to improve bus safety and prevent hazards on rail systems in Maryland.

“The safety of our regional transportation networks must be a top priority. This new federal funding will upgrade Maryland’s rail systems with warning technology to protect Maryland commuters while bolstering reliability,” said the lawmakers. “Our delegation will always work to deliver resources that modernize and expand public transportation in our state for the good of our residents and transit workers.”

Funding comes from the U.S. Federal Transit Administration’s Safety, Research and Demonstration Program and Bus Operator Compartment Program. Maryland’s awards include:

  • $1 million for the International Transportation Learning Center in Silver Spring to enhance bus driver safety and improve relations between passengers and transit operators.
  • $675,000 for the Maryland Department of Transportation to mitigate risks on rail systems in Baltimore by upgrading track warning and detection technology to alert train operators when someone is on the tracks. 

More information on the research and innovation programs within the Federal Transit Administration can be found here.