Press Release

November 6, 2019
Cardin, Van Hollen, Warner, Kaine Resolution Congratulating Nationals on World Series Unanimously Passes Senate
Maryland and Virginia Senators celebrate the National's first-ever World Series championship

WASHINGTON – Today the U.S. Senate unanimously approved a resolution introduced by US Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen (both D-Md.), and Mark R. Warner and Tim Kaine (both D-Va.) officially congratulating the Washington Nationals on winning the World Series for the first time in franchise history.

“The Washington Nationals worked hard, played with heart and had fun while they were at it. What a great example for us all,” said the four Senators. “Congratulations to all the players, coaches, staff and fans on an incredible season and a victory that will be remembered for a long time.”

Text of the resolution is available here. Del. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC) is introducing an identical resolution in the House of Representatives.