Press Release

June 12, 2019
Cardin, Van Hollen Introduce Resolution Honoring the University of Maryland Women’s Lacrosse Team’s Unprecedented 14th National Championship
Senators spotlight Tewaaraton Award recipient Megan Taylor, first goalie ever to be named country's top collegiate player

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen (both D-Md.) today announced the passage of a Senate Resolution they authored to celebrate the unprecedented accomplishments of the University of Maryland Women’s Lacrosse Team, which recently secured its 14th NCAA national championship.

Behind Coach Cathy Reese, the UMD Women’s Lacrosse team compiled a record of 22-1 in 2019, and the team’s senior class amassed a home record of 45-0 over the last four years. In addition to celebrating these incredible accomplishments, the senators underscored the importance of the contribution of goalie Megan Taylor, who was named the Most Outstanding Player in the Final Four and the winner of the Tewaaraton Award, given to the nation’s top collegiate player. It was the first time ever a goalie has received this distinction.

“The University of Maryland’s Women’s Lacrosse Team is the definition of consistency, class and accomplishment,” said Senator Cardin. “This is a team that always took the field fully prepared, always had each other’s backs, and always represented our state in a way that made its denizens and alumni proud.”

Senator Van Hollen said, “Maryland could not be more proud of our National Champion Women’s Lacrosse team, and I’m thrilled to join Senator Cardin in honoring Coach Reese and all the players on this great accomplishment. Go Terps!”

The full text of the resolution is available for DOWNLOAD HERE.