Press Release

July 19, 2021
Cardin, Van Hollen, Hoyer Announce American Rescue Plan Funding for More Than 50 Fire and EMS Departments in Southern Maryland and Eastern Shore

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen and Congressman Steny H. Hoyer (all D-Md.) today announced $1,037,955 in American Rescue Plan funding for fire and emergency rescue departments in Southern Maryland and along the Eastern Shore.

“Our volunteer firefighters and first responders often risk their lives to serve and protect our communities and have worked around the clock during the COVID-19 pandemic,” the lawmakers said. “This new federal funding will provide our fire and rescue teams with the necessary supplies and equipment to keep Marylanders safe.”

The award comes from the Maryland Emergency Management Agency, through the American Rescue Plan passed by Congress, to help departments offset the financial strain of the COVID-19 pandemic. The awardees include:


Delmar Fire Dept.


Fruitland Fire Dept.


Hebron VFD


Mardela Springs VFD


Pittsville FD


Powellville VFC


Sharptown VFD


West Side Fire Company


Willards VFC


Total for Wicomico County





Huntington VFD


North Beach VFD


Prince Frederick VFD


St. Leonard VFD


Total for Calvert County





Easton VFD


Oxford Fire Co.


St. Michael’s Fire Dept.


Tilghman VFD


Trappe VFC


Total for Talbot County





Hollywood VFD


Leonardtown VFD


Mechanicsville VFD


Ridge VFD


Second District VFDRS


Total for St. Mary’s County





Denton VFC


Goldsboro VFC


Greensboro VFC


Preston VFC


Ridgely VFD


Total for Caroline County





Church Creek VFD


Hoopers Island VFC


Hurlock VFD


Lakes and Straits VFC


Neck District VFC


Vienna VFC


Total for Dorchester County





Betterton VFC


Chestertown VFC


Community Fire Co. of Millington


Galena VFD


Kennedyville VFC


Total for Kent County





Charlestown Fire Co.


Community Fire Co. of Rising Sun


Total for Cecil County





Crisfield Fire Department


Deal Island – Chance VFC


Fairmont VFD


Marion Fire Dept.


Total for Somerset County





Showell VFD


Snow Hill Fire Co.


Total for Worcester County





Bryan’s Road


Hughesville VFD


Total for Charles County





Church Hill VFC


Queen Anne-Hillsboro VFC


Total for Queen Anne’s County