Press Release

June 24, 2008

Senators Benjamin L. Cardin and
Barbara A. Mikulski
(both D-Md.) today met with Maryland Teacher of the Year April Todd of Somerset Intermediate School in Somerset County.
 The Senators also congratulated Teachers of the Year from each of Maryland's counties.


“Studies show that good teachers are the key to helping students learn and succeed,”
said Senator Cardin. “It's important that we reward and recognize excellent teaching and that is why I want to congratulate the 24 teachers who have been selected as Maryland Teachers of the Year. Our state and our country owe you our thanks and our appreciation.”


“As a social worker and legislator, my goal has always been to make sure everyone in America has access to a first-rate education, so that no child or community is left out or left behind. These teachers represent the best we have to offer
,” said Senator Mikulski. “Congratulations to all the teachers across Maryland who make a difference in children’s lives every day.
  They are an inspiration to us all!”


The Maryland Teacher of the Year program recognizes and honors exemplary elementary, middle, and high school teachers that are excellent instructors and education leaders in their schools and communities. This includes a Maryland Teacher of the Year, and a local winner from each county. The Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) oversees this program with all 24 local school systems participating.


Teachers who have been selected as the Teacher of the Year in Maryland’s the 24 jurisdictions
  include (in alphabetical order by county): Deborah M. Pappas, Cresaptown Elementary School (Alleghany County); Alicia Appel, Southern High School (Anne Arundel County); Leah Waller, Maree Garnett Farring Elementary School (Baltimore City); Robin August, Deep Creek Magnet Middle School (Baltimore County), Radhika Plakkot, Huntingtown High School (Calvert County);
  Lindsey McCormick, Ridgely Elementary School (Caroline County); Antonina Wallace, Carrolltowne Elementary School (Carroll County); Sallie Christian,

Bay View Elementary School (Cecil County);
  Julia Z. Habash, General Smallwood Middle School (Charles County); Karla Eberspacher, Maple Elementary School (Dorchester County); Matthew Johnston, Frederick High School (Frederick County); Doug Oxford,

Southern Garrett High School (Garrett County); Christine Roland, Edgewood High School (Harford County); Patricia Phillips, Phelps Luck Elementary School (Howard County); Nancy Harrington, Worton Elementary School (Kent County); Raul Ortiz,
  Damascus High School (Montgomery County); Leah Rempert, Langley Park McCormick Elementary School (Prince George’s County); Judith Adkins, Church Hill Elementary School (Queen Anne’s County);

Danny Reed, Chopticon High School (St. Mary’s County); April Todd, Somerset Intermediate School (Somerset County); Patricia Windle Weise, White Marsh Elementary School (Talbot County); Gwen M. Pangborn, Smithsburg Elementary School (Washington County); Susan Miller Ward, Wicomico High School (Wicomico); and Tamara Krauch Mills, Pocomoke Middle School (Worchester County.)