Press Release

September 30, 2014
Cardin, Mikulski Congratulate Maryland Schools Receiving Prestigious National Blue Ribbon Award
Program sets standard of excellence for all schools striving for the highest level of achievement

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Ben Cardin and Barbara A. Mikulski (Both D-Md.) today praised 10 Maryland schools for receiving prestigious National Blue Ribbon awards from the U.S. Department of Education (DoED). The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program annually honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools that are either academically superior or that demonstrate dramatic gains in student achievement. 


“The designation of 10 National Blue Ribbon Schools in Maryland is an achievement we can all celebrate.” said Senator Cardin. “Thanks to all the parents, teachers, administrators and students who worked hard to bring 10 National Blue Ribbons to Maryland. I will continue the fight to ensure schools throughout Maryland have the opportunity and resources that give all of our young people a fair shot at success in and out of the classroom.”


“I’m so proud of these Maryland schools that have proven themselves as models of educational excellence. They are inspiring students to be all they can be, changing lives and supporting kids and families,” Senator Mikulski said. “We know that a quality education consists of tough academic standards, safe and drug-free schools, and the latest in math and science technology. Maryland’s Blue Ribbon schools have mastered these ingredients and are leading the way in education. Teachers, parents and students at these schools are preparing our future leaders for the next rung on America’s opportunity ladder.”


The 2014 Maryland Blue Ribbon Schools are:


Cashell Elementary School of Montgomery County

Frost Elementary School of Allegany County

Immaculate Conception School of Baltimore County

Linthicum Elementary School of Anne Arundel County

Mount Aviat Academy of Cecil County

Northern Garrett High School of Garrett County

Our Lady of Grace School of Baltimore County

Robert Goddard French Immersion Elem/Middle School of Prince George’s

School of the Cathedral of Mary Our Queen of Baltimore City

Western School of Technology and Environmental Science of Baltimore County


According to DoED, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors schools based on one of two criteria. They either are schools with at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds that dramatically improve student performance to high levels on state tests. Or they are schools whose students, regardless of background, achieve in the top 10 percent of their state on state tests (for public schools) or in the top 10 percent of the nation on nationally normed tests (for private schools).


The program sets a standard of excellence for all schools striving for the highest level of achievement. The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program is part of a larger DoED effort to identify and disseminate knowledge about best school leadership and teaching practices. Each year since 1982, DoED has sought out schools where students attain and maintain high academic goals, including those that beat the odds.