Press Release

February 25, 2011
Millersville and Landover high school students tapped for honor; Ellicott City and Baltimore students chosen as alternates
WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Benjamin L. Cardin and Barbara A. Mikulski (both D-Md.) today announced the names of the two Maryland students who have been selected as delegates to the 49th annual United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP). The two students are Samantha Foggan of Millersville and Kevin Saucedo-Broach of Landover. They were chosen from hundreds of applicants to be part of the group of 104 student delegates who will attend the USSYP’s 49th annual Washington Week, which will be held March 5 – 12, 2011.
“I am impressed by how these outstanding Marylanders embody the spirit of public service at such young ages,” said Senator Cardin. “Young people pursuing careers in government should look to Samantha Foggan and Kevin Sauced-Broach as role-models. We are indeed fortunate to have these two fine young people committed to making our nation better.”
“I am so proud of Samantha Foggan and Kevin Sauced-Broach, who have demonstrated their leadership and commitment to public service as they continue their studies,” said Senator Mikulski. “These young people are America’s future leaders. The United States Senate Youth Program will let them see first-hand how our government works and prepare them to take up the challenge of making the world a safer, stronger and smarter place to live.”    
The USSYP was created by Senate Resolution 324 in 1962 and has been sponsored by the Senate and fully funded by The Hearst Foundations since inception. Originally proposed by Senators Kuchel, Mansfield, Dirksen and Humphrey, the mission of the program is to increase young Americans’ understanding of the interrelationships of the three branches of government, the caliber and responsibilities of federally elected and appointed officials, and the vital importance of democratic decision making not only for America but for people around the world. 
Each year this extremely competitive merit-based program brings 104 of the most outstanding high school students – two from each state, the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense Education Activity – to Washington, D.C. for an intensive week-long study of the federal government and the people who lead it.
The overall mission of the program is to help instill within each class of USSYP student delegates deep knowledge of the American political process and a lifelong commitment to public service. In addition to the program week, the foundation grants each of the 104 student delegates a $5,000 college scholarship with encouragement to continue coursework in government, history and public affairs. Transportation and all expenses for Washington Week are provided by the foundation, as stipulated in S.Res.324. No government funds are utilized.
Samantha Foggan is class president at Old Mill High School. She was elected class president and Key Club president both her junior and senior years. She speaks Arabic and French and was selected for Girls State Mock Trial and the Student Model Government Program as well as for student internships in Baltimore and Washington, D.C. She is active in many school organizations, student government, and community volunteer activities, and has founded two charities.
Kevin Saucedo-Broach is Student Council president at Charles Herbert Flowers High School. He founded the Student Humanitarian Organization at his school and organized a group of his peers to raise money for the Red Cross after the Haiti earthquake. Kevin was admitted to the school’s chapter of the National Honor Society and elected treasurer for this school year. Last year, Kevin was elected vice president of the Science and Technology Academic Reformers (STAR).
Chosen as alternates to the 2011 program were Sarah Calvert, a resident of Ellicott City, who attends Centennial High School and Benjamin Turcea, a resident of Baltimore, who attends Archbishop Curley High School.
The chief educational officer in each state selects the delegates after nomination by teachers and principals. This year’s delegates were designated by Dr. Nancy S. Grasmick, State Superintendent of Schools. 
While in Washington, the student delegates will attend meetings and briefings with Senators and Congressional staff, the President, a Justice of the Supreme Court, leaders of cabinet agencies, an Ambassador to the United States and top members of the national media. The students will also tour many of the national monuments and several museums and they will stay at the historic Mayflower hotel in downtown Washington, D.C.
In addition to remarkable leadership abilities and a strong commitment to public service, this year’s students rank academically in the top one percent of their states. They continue to excel and develop impressive qualities that are often directed toward public service.