Press Release

July 12, 2007


Senators Benjamin L. Cardin and
Barbara A. Mikulski (both D-Md.) today announced that Morgan State University has received $1 million from the U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA). The money will be used to work with the DOT to solve national and regional transportation challenges. 

“Morgan State is a top-notch institution that will offer top-notch solutions to our transportation problems. This funding is great news for the school and the entire state,” said Senator Mikulski. “As a part of the DOT’s program, Marylanders can count on Morgan State to help keep them on the move by improving congestion and safety on our regions roads and highways. I will continue to fight for federal investments that bring the best minds together for strategies to help Maryland and the nation.”

“Solving transportation problems takes innovation and creativity, and I am pleased that Morgan State University has been selected by the DOT to help find solutions that will lessen congestion and improve our transportation network.  A smooth-flowing transportation system is critical to our nation’s future economic growth, and I know that Morgan State has the resources and talent to make a major contribution in this effort that will benefit all of us,” said Senator Cardin.

The University Transportation Center (UTC) Program was established in 1987 with the mission of advancing U.S. technology and expertise in the many disciplines comprising transportation through the mechanisms of education, research and technology transfer at university-based centers of excellence. Participating UTCs are expected to work collaboratively with the DOT and state and local transportation stakeholders, and provide leadership in making national and regional contributions to solving immediate and long-range transportation challenges.

Universities competed for a 4-year designation as a DOT-sponsored UTC in the 2005 Transportation Reauthorization bill (SAFETEA), which authorizes each of the selected universities to receive up to $1 million per year. Today’s funding is part of Morgan State’s designation. Federal UTC grants must be matched on a dollar-for-dollar basis with non-federal funding.

Senator Mikulski is a senior member of the Senate Appropriations Committee. Senator Cardin is a member of the Budget Committee.