Press Release

June 8, 2020
Cardin Joins Bicameral Warning Against Trump Administration Resuming Explosive Nuclear Testing
Bicameral group of legislators point out that explosive testing is unnecessary and carries significant risks to the United States' national security

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Ben Cardin (D-Md.), today joined a bicameral group of 80 other colleagues in urging Donald Trump not to resume explosive nuclear testing after a 28-year hiatus. This letter comes in response to reports indicating the administration is considering taking this step.

In a letter to Donald Trump, the legislators wrote, “We are deeply concerned by recent reports that you are considering a resumption of explosive nuclear testing, something the U.S. has not done since 1992. We urge you in the strongest terms to reject this awful idea both because it is technically unnecessary and because it would represent a dangerous provocation.”

The legislators noted that the United States moved from explosive nuclear testing to an annual assessment process through the U.S. Department of Energy’s Stockpile Stewardship and Management Program (SSMP). Both Republican and Democratic administrations have supported and strengthened the SSMP because the program has scientifically expanded the nation’s knowledge of nuclear weapons while remaining both safe and secure.

The legislators continued, “A return to nuclear testing is not only scientifically and technically unnecessary but also dangerously provocative. It would signal to the world that the U.S. no longer has confidence in the safety, security, and effectiveness of our nuclear weapons. It would needlessly antagonize important allies, cause other countries to develop or acquire nuclear weapons, and prompt adversaries to respond in kind—risking a new nuclear arms race and further undermining the global nonproliferation regime. None of these developments would improve America’s national security or strengthen its position in the world.” 

Joining Wyden and Foster in sending this letter were U.S. Sens. Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisc.), Chris Coons, (D-Del.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Maggie Hassan, (D-N.H.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Chris Murphy(D-Conn.), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Richard J. Durbin (D-Ill.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.) and Patty Murray (D-Wash.), and U.S. Reps. Bill Foster (D-Ill.), Jared Huffman (D-Calif.), Jim McGovern (D-Mass.), Danny Davis (D-Ill.), Steven Horsford (D-Nev.), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-D.C.), Bobby Rush (D-Ill.), Adriano Espaillat (D-N.Y.), Gwen Moore (D-Wisc.), Juan Vargas (D-Calif.), Veronica Escobar (D-Texas), Mike Quigley (D-Ill.), Pete Visclosky (D-Ind.), Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-N.J.), Jim Langevin (D-R.I.), Ro Khanna (D-Calif.), Rick Larsen (D-Wash.), Alan Lowenthal (D-Calif.), David Cicilline (D-R.I.), Gil Cisneros (D-Calif.), Chellie Pingree (D-Maine), Dina Titus (D-Nev.), Don Beyer (D-Va.), Joe Kennedy (D-Mass.), Barbara Lee (D-Calif.), Ben McAdams (D-Utah), Jimmy Panetta (D-Calif.), Ted Lieu (D-Calif.), Raúl Grijalva (D-Ariz.), Earl Blumenauer (D-Ore.), Ami Bera (D-Calif.), Donald Payne Jr. (D-N.J.), André Carson (D-Ind.), Mike Doyle (D-Pa.), Betty McCollum (D-Minn.), Peter Welch (D-Mass.), Hank Johnson (D-Ga.), Andy Levin (D-Mich.), Peter DeFazio (D-Ore.), Angie Craig (D-Minn.), Jan Schakowsky (D-Ill.), Nydia Velázquez (D-P.R.), Ayanna Pressley (D-Mass.), Adam Schiff (D-Calif.), Jason Crow (D-Colo.), Julia Brownley (D-Calif.), Salud O. Carbajal (D-Calif.), Sylvia Garcia (D-Texas), Jesús G. “Chuy” Garcia (D-Ill.), Denny Heck (D-Wash.), Ann Kirkpatrick (D-Ariz.), Ann McLane Kuster (D-N.H.), Susie Lee (D-Nev.), Ben Ray Luján (D-N.M.), Dean Phillips (D-Minn.), Mark Pocan (D-Wisc.), Katie Porter (D-Calif.), and C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-Md.)

The legislators also sent copies of the letter to Defense Secretary Mark Esper and Energy Secretary Dan Broulliette.

A copy of today’s letter is available here