Press Release

March 3, 2016
Cardin, Delaney, Luján Introduce Resolutions Establishing National Clean Energy Goals
Over 100 members support resolutions calling for more than 50% of electricity to come from clean and carbon-free sources by 2030

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Congressman John K. Delaney (Md.-6) and Congressman Ben Luján (N.M.-3) have filed resolutions in the House and Senate affirming the establishment of a national goal of more than 50 percent of America’s electricity production coming from clean and carbon-free electricity sources by 2030 and calling for the enactment of new legislation to achieve this goal. In a show of significant support for this initiative, the “50×30 Resolutions” are cosponsored by 30 Senators and 103 House Members. The 50×30 Resolutions also are endorsed by The Union of Concerned Scientists, GreenLatinos, Green for All, Climate Hawks and the House Sustainable Energy and Environment Caucus.

“Investment in clean energy is booming and Congress has to act swiftly or risk hurting the United States financially and damaging our global reputation as a clean energy innovator. If we don’t lead on clean energy, some other country will,” said Senator Cardin, who is a senior member of the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee. “This is a blueprint of where our nation needs to be. I don’t see this as a partisan issue, it’s about national security, economic security and public health. The next President of the United States will want to exert continued leadership in this area.”


“Pivoting to a clean carbon-free economy is about good-paying jobs, strengthening our national security and protecting our environment and public health. Over 100 Senators and Representatives have joined our effort to put clean energy and climate action on the Congressional agenda,” said Congressman Delaney. “There’s a consensus that it’s time to end climate denialism and time for Congress to get work on solutions.”

“Across the country and in my home state of New Mexico, the American people are already experiencing the devastating impacts of climate change, from more extreme fires and record drought to more severe storms, said Congressman Luján.  “Transitioning to a clean energy economy can mitigate these worsening effects while spurring innovative new sectors that will create jobs and economic opportunities in our communities. A national goal of 50 percent clean and carbon free electricity by 2030 establishes a realistic marker that will challenge our country and accelerate action that is good for our economy, our national security, and our health.”


The full text of the Senate resolution is available here.  In addition to Rep. Delaney and Rep. Luján, the lead cosponsors in the House are Rep. Joe Kennedy III (MA-4), Rep. Suzan DelBene (WA-1), Rep. Ted Lieu (CA-33), Rep. Mark Pocan (WI-2), Rep. Kathy Castor (FL-14), Rep. Ann McLane Kuster (NH-2) and Rep. Eric Swalwell (CA-15).


Current List of Original Senate Cosponsors [30]: Ben Cardin (Md.), Harry Reid (Nev.), Dick Durbin (Ill.), Chuck Schumer (N.Y.), Amy Klobuchar (Minn.), Patty Murray (Wash.), Pat Leahy (Vt.), Barbara Mikulski (Md.), Diane Feinstein (Calif.), Barbara Boxer (Calif.), Ron Wyden (Ore.), Bill Nelson (Fla.), Tom Carper (Del.), Bob Menendez (N.J.), Sheldon Whitehouse (R.I.), Tom Udall (N.M.), Jeanne Shaheen (N.H.), Jeff Merkley (Ore.), Kirsten Gillibrand (N.Y.), Al Franken (Minn.), Chris Coons (Del.), Richard Blumenthal (Conn.), Brian Schatz (Hawaii), Chris Murphy (Conn.), Mazie Hirono (Hawaii), Martin Heinrich (N.M.), Elizabeth Warren (Mass.), Angus King (Maine), Ed Markey (Mass.), and Cory Booker (N.J.).


Current List of Original House Cosponsors [103]: Rep. Xavier Becerra (CA-34), Rep. Don Beyer (VA-8), Rep. Earl Blumenauer (OR-3), Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (OR-1), Rep. Madeleine Z. Bordallo (GU), Rep. Brendan Boyle (PA-13), Rep. Julia Brownley (CA-26), Rep. Cheri Bustos (IL-17), Rep. Lois Capps (CA-24), Rep. Michael E. Capuano (MA-7), Rep. Tony Cardenas( CA-29), Rep. John Carney (DE),  Rep. Matthew Cartwright (PA-17), Rep. Kathy Castor (FL-14), Rep. Joaquin Castro (TX-20), Rep. Judy Chu (CA-27), Rep. David Cicilline (RI-1), Rep. Katherine Clark (MA-5), Rep. Yvette D. Clarke (NY-9), Rep. James E. Clyburn (SC-6), Rep. Steve Cohen (TN-9), Rep. Gerald E. Connolly (VA-11), Rep. John Conyers Jr. (MI-13), Rep. Joe Courtney (CT-2), Rep. Joseph Crowley (NY-14), Rep. Elijah Cummings (MD-7), Rep. John K. Delaney (MD-6), Rep.Suzan DelBene (WA-1), Rep. Rosa DeLauro (CT-3), Rep. Mark Desaulnier (CA-11), Rep. Donna F. Edwards (MD-4), Rep. Keith Ellison (MN-5), Rep. Anna G. Eshoo (CA-18), Rep. Elizabeth Esty (CT-5), Rep. Bill Foster (IL-11), Rep. Alan Grayson (FL-9), Rep. Luis Gutierrez (IL-4), Rep. Janice Hahn (CA-44), Rep. Denny Heck (WA-10), Rep. Brian Higgins (NY-26), Rep. Jim Himes (CT-4), Rep.  Mike Honda (CA-17), Rep. Jared Huffman (CA-2), Rep. Steve Israel (NY-3), Rep. Hank Johnson (GA-4), Rep. William Keating (MA-9), Rep. Joe Kennedy (MA-4), Rep.  Daniel Kildee (MI-5), Rep. Derek Kilmer (WA-6), Rep. Ann Kuster (NH-2), Rep. Jim Langevin (RI-2), Rep. Rick Larsen (WA-2), Rep. John B. Larson (CT-1), Rep. Barbara Lee (CA-13), Rep. Sander Levin (MI-9), Rep. John Lewis (GA-5), Rep. Ted Lieu (CA-33), Rep. Zoe Lofgren (CA-19), Rep. Ben R. Lujan (NM-3), Rep. Michelle Lujan Grisham (NM-1), Rep. Stephen F.  Lynch (MA-8), Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (NY-18), Rep. Doris O. Matsui (CA-6), Rep. Grace Meng (NY-6), Rep. Jim McDermott (WA-7), Rep. James McGovern (MA-2), Rep. Gregory W. Meeks (NY-5), Rep. Seth Moulton (MA-6), Rep. Patrick Murphy (FL-18), Rep. Jerrold Nadler (NY-10), Rep. Grace Napolitano (CA-32), Rep. Richard E. Neal (MA-1), Rep. Rick Nolan (MN-8), Del. Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC), Rep.  Donald Payne Jr. (NJ-10), Rep. Scott Peters (CA-52), Rep. Chellie Pingree (ME-1), Rep. Mark Pocan (WI-2), Rep. Jared Polis (CO-2), Rep. Mike Quigley (IL-5), Rep. Charles B. Rangel (NY-13), Rep. Kathleen Rice (NY-4), Rep.  C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger (MD-2), Rep. Bobby L. Rush (IL-1), Rep. John P. Sarbanes (MD-3), Rep. Jan Schakowsky (IL-9), Rep. Adam Schiff (CA-28),  Rep. Bobby Scott (VA-3), Rep. David Scott (GA-13), Rep. Brad Sherman (CA-30), Rep. Louise Slaughter (NY-25), Rep. Adam Smith (WA-9), Rep. Eric Swalwell (CA-15), Rep. Tim Ryan (OH-13), Rep. Mark Takano (CA-41),  Rep. Paul D. Tonko (NY-20), Rep. Niki Tsongas (MA-3), Rep. Chris Van Hollen (MD-8), Rep. Juan Vargas (CA-51), Rep. Nydia M. Velazquez (NY-7), Rep. Maxine Waters (CA-43), Rep.  Peter Welch (VT) and Rep. John A. Yarmuth (KY-3)