Press Release

May 8, 2018
Cardin, Van Hollen Celebrate Public Service Recognition Week

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen (both D-Md.) honored the critical work of federal, state, county, and local government employees and members of the uniformed services by joining their colleagues in passing a bipartisan resolution designating this week – May 6-12, 2018 – as Public Service Recognition Week.

Maryland is home to more than 136,000 federal civilian workers and 46,000 members of the armed forces.

“Whether it’s Maryland’s educators pouring their hearts into our children, our police officers and first responders protecting our neighborhoods, or our government employees providing essential services, our public service workforce provides the very foundation for our society and we cannot take them for granted,” said Senator Cardin. “Public service is often hard, thankless work, but it is what has made America such an exceptional and prosperous country. It is a privilege to represent so many public servants in the U.S. Senate and I’m proud to help bring them the recognition and gratitude they deserve.”

“Our public workforce is crucial to serving the American people – from fighting fires, to discovering cures to life threatening diseases, to protecting our national security, to other vital services for our country,” said Senator Van Hollen. “I will continue working to ensure that our public employees have the resources they need to best serve the American people. This week – and every week – we thank these men and women for their hard work and dedication.”

For over 30 years, Public Service Recognition Week has been hosted by the Public Employees Roundtable to help honor federal, state, county and local government employees who are critical to the day to day success of our communities and nation.

Cardin and Van Hollen were joined in cosponsoring the bipartisan Public Service Recognition Week Resolution by a group of 21 cosponsors, including U.S. Senators Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND), James Lankford (R-OK), Tom Carper (D-DE), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Claire McCaskill (D-MO), Jon Tester (D-MT), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Mark Warner (D-VA), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Angus King (I-ME), Chris Coons (D-DE), Gary Peters (D-MI), Patty Murray (D-WA), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Kamala Harris (D-CA), and Patrick Leahy (D-VT).